De La Soul Wins Webby Award For Artist Of The Year

Hip hop group De La Soul haven’t released a full album since 2004, but that didn’t stop the Webby Awards from crowning the group Artists of the Year. The award was given to group solely as a result of their unprecedented decision to make their entire pre-2004 discography (six albums in total) available to download for free on their website.

Other winners include British street artist Banksy (Person of the Year), political activist Lawrence Lessig (Lifetime Achievement), Jamaican Bobsled Team (Athletes of the Year), Orange Is the New Black“s Taylor Schilling (Actress of the Year), Freddie Wong (Film & Video Person of the Year), Kickstarter (Breakout of the Year), and Ogilvy Paris (Agency of the Year).

Acceptance speeches were restricted to five words or less. Here are some highlights:

George Takei – “Shatner, eat your heart out.”

The Onion – “Too many died for this.”

The Guardian NSA Files Decoded – “More privacy, less NSA surveillance.”

Airbnb – “We’re sleeping in your bed.”

Ogilvy Paris – “The secret of success is…”

The ceremony was hosted by comedian Patton Oswalt. Click on the video below for his opening monologue. (Warning: Video contains profanity).


Get breaking news in your inbox



Powered by VIP