Presidential Medal Of Freedom: Ellen DeGeneres, Tom Hanks Among Honourees

U.S. President Obama has named 21 recipients for the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

The list of names include a number of big celebrities, such as: Ellen DeGeneres, Robert De Niro, Tom Hanks, Michael Jordan, Lorne Michaels, Robert Redford, Diana Ross and Bruce Springsteen. The awards will be presented at the White House on November 22.

RELATED: Barack And Michelle Obama Dance To Usher’s ‘Yeah!’

The remaining honourees consist of: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Elouise Cobell (posthumous), Richard Garwin, Frank Gehry, Margaret H. Hamilton, Grace Hopper (posthumous), Maya Lin, Newt Minow, Eduardo Padron, Vin Scully, and Cicely Tyson. Bill and Melinda Gates will also be honoured as one collective recipient.

As described by Obama: “the Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation’s highest civilian honour – it’s a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better.”

RELATED: Michelle Obama Graces Her Third Cover Of Vogue 

Adding: “From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

Hollywood’s supremely-honoured celebs are reacting to the thrilling news on Twitter.




Powered by VIP