“The Lion King”, “Thelma & Louise”, “The Princess Bride” and “Rushmore” are among the 25 films added to the National Film Registry by the United States’ Library of Congress.

Each year, films are added to the Registry for their significant cultural, historic or aesthetic importance and range from early cinema classics to more recent blockbusters. This year’s selection spans from 1903 to 1998 and includes entries in a variety of genres including documentaries, animation, blockbusters and experimental films. The films are ultimately chosen by the Library of Congress, but the public can nominate films for consideration.

RELATED: AFI Unveils Annual Picks For 10 Best TV Series And Movies Of 2016

Among this year’s selections are Alfred Hitchcock’s horror classic “The Birds”, the 1968 Barbra Streisand musical “Funny Girl”, Brat Pack favourite “The Breakfast Club” and the hybrid live-action and animated comedy “Who Framed Roger Rabbit”. Three early silent films were added, including 1903’s “Life Of An American Fireman” and the Buster Keaton masterpiece “Steamboat Bill Jr.”

On receiving the honour on Wednesday, director Ridley Scott tells the press he is pleased to have “Thelma & Louise” join his already-inducted “Blade Runner”.

“I am very honoured and proud to be acknowledged by the Library of Congress. ‘Blade Runner’ will now have two great ladies to keep him company,” he says.

See the full list of films added to the National Film Registry:

“The Atomic Cafe” (1982)
“Ball of Fire” (1941)
“The Beau Brummels” (1928)
“The Birds” (1963)
“Blackboard Jungle” (1955)
“The Breakfast Club” (1985)
“The Decline of Western Civilization” (1981)
“East of Eden” (1955)
“Funny Girl” (1968)
“Life of an American Fireman” (1903)
“The Lion King” (1994)
“Lost Horizon” (1937)
“Musketeers of Pig Alley” (1912)
“Paris Is Burning” (1990)
“Point Blank” (1967)
“The Princess Bride” (1987)
“Putney Swope” (1969)
“Rushmore” (1998)
“Solomon Sir Jones” films (1924-28)
“Steamboat Bill, Jr.” (1928)
“Suzanne, Suzanne” (1982)
“Thelma & Louise” (1991)
“20,000 Leagues Under the Sea” (1916)
“A Walk in the Sun” (1945)
“Who Framed Roger Rabbit” (1988)