Broken Social Scene To Drop First Album In 7 Years!

Canadian indie rock band Broken Social Scene are shaking up the music scene with their first album in seven years!

RELATED: Broken Social Scene Debut New Track On ‘The Late Show’

The group have announced their plans to release “Hug of Thunder” on July 7. They last released their first-ever number one Canadian album “Forgiveness Rock Record” on May 4, 2010.

In a new interview with Beats 1 and Zane Lowe, the band dished on getting back together and their collaboration with Feist.

“Well I think if you want to be a part of something then be a part of it,” the group said of their big return. “It is about a family more than a band and some of us are much closer than others and we’ve stuck together through all this and we’ve been through so much.”

Feist’s record on the band’s album is the record’s title-track and Broken Social Scene credit her for the name. “Hug of Thunder. [It came from] Feisty! She’s on fire too,” they complimented. “Her record, it’s stunning. And there’s actually more records coming out this year than we’ve ever had before within our crew and it’s a beautiful thing.”

The album’s title, track-list, and cover were leaked on the internet and the authenticity of the leak was later confirmed by Pitchfork. The band has since taken to Twitter to confirm details regarding their fifth studio album.

RELATED: Brad Paisley Releases What He Calls Country’s First ‘Visual Album’

Broken Social Scene released their first single off the album, “Halfway Home”, in late March. You can listen to the song and view the entire tracklist below!

“Hug of Thunder”:

  1. “Sol Luna”
  2. “Halfway Home”
  3. “Protest Song”
  4. “Skyline”
  5. “Stay Happy Stay Happy Stay Happy Stay Happy”
  6. “Vanity Pail Kids”
  7. “Hug of Thunder”
  8. “Towers and Masons”
  9. “Victim Lover”
  10. “Please Take Me With You”
  11. “Gonna Get Better”
Click to View Gallery

12 Hotly Anticipated May Albums



Powered by VIP