Unreleased Chris Cornell Tracks To Be Unveiled The Day After Soundgarden Frontman’s Death

One day after the tragic death of Chris Cornell, some never-before-heard music from the late Soundgarden frontman is slated to be released — with the date of release coincidentally announced months ago.

As reported by SPIN back in January, 2017 marks the 25th anniversary of Cameron Crowe’s grunge-era movie “Singles”, which boasted a soundtrack featuring such Seattle acts as Pearl Jam, Mudhoney and Soundgarden.

RELATED: Suicide Confirmed In Shocking Death Of Chris Cornell

To celebrate the anniversary, a special edition of the “Singles” soundtrack will be released on Friday, May 19, including a bonus disc of unreleased material that never made it onto the original soundtrack.

Among the new tracks are several featuring Cornell, who was found dead of an apparent suicide in a hotel room following a Wednesday night show in Detroit.

The bonus tracks include Cornell’s “Nowhere But You,” “Spoon Man,” “Flutter Girl” and “Missing”, in addition to two other tracks, “Ferry Boat #3” and “Score Piece #4”. There will also be an unreleased live track from Soundgarden, “Birth Ritual.”

RELATED: The Music World Reacts To The Passing Of Chris Cornell

“His wife Vicky and family were shocked to learn of his sudden and unexpected passing, and they will be working closely with the medical examiner to determine the cause,” reads a statement from Cornell’s rep, Brian Bumbery. “They would like to thank his fans for their continuous love and loyalty and ask that their privacy be respected at this time.”


Get breaking news in your inbox



Powered by WordPress VIP