Drake, Bryan Adams And More Winners Announced For 2017 SOCAN Awards

The 2017 SOCAN Awards will be presented at a special ceremony Monday night at Toronto’s Sheraton Centre Hotel, honouring Canadian songwriters and composers whose work has made an impact during the past year.

This year marks the 28th anniversary of the SOCAN Awards, which were first held in 1990, with members of the Canadian music industry gathering to pay tribute to the top-performed songs from the previous year by members of the Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada.

In addition, the SOCAN Awards also honour exceptional film and television music, iconic songs that have reached the 100,000 airplay mark (25,000 for French songs) on domestic radio, and present individual SOCAN members with special achievement awards for impressive career accomplishments.

This year’s International Achievement Award will go to Drake, whose recent “More Life” album shattered streaming records on Spotify and Apple Music, and spent three consecutive weeks at #1.

RELATED: Gordon Lightfoot, Drake & Carly Rae Jepsen Were Honoured At Last Night’s SOCAN Awards

Also being honoured this year are Bryan Adams and songwriting partner Jim Vallance, who will receive the 2017 SOCAN Lifetime Achievement Award, while Hedley will be honoured with the National Achievement Award.

Also taking home an award at this year’s gala will be Andy Kim, receiving the Cultural Impact Award for writing “Sugar Sugar”, recorded by The Archies in 1969 and going on to spend four consecutive weeks at #1.

In addition, Paul Jeffries (better known as Nineteen85) is being honoured with 2017’s Songwriter of the Year Award.

More awards will be presented during the SOCAN Awards gala, with a full list of winners available on the SOCAN website.

Click to View Gallery

11 Canadian Music Megastars Who Were Never Crowned Best New Artist/Group




Powered by WordPress.com VIP