Public Enemy’s New Album Releases Next Week

Iconic New York hip-hop group Public Enemy will release a new album on July 4 titled “Nothing Is Quick In The Desert.”

The album was supposed to be a surprise until a Spanish publication reported that a new record from the hip-hop group would be released in July.

Chuck D, one of the members of the group, confirmed the news while overseas in Croatia with his supergroup, Prophets of Rage, which includes Cypress Hill’s B-Real, DJ Lord, Rage Against The Machine’s Tim Commerford, Tom Morello and Brad Wilk.

READ MORE: Public Enemy not pleased that Oscars used song ‘Fight the Power’

Billboard reports that Chuck D, Flava Flav and company will deliver the new album next week as a free download and it’s the follow-up to 2015’s “Man Plans God Laughs.”

HipHopDX reached out to Chuck D via text and he reportedly confirmed the news. No track list or other details are available yet but Chuck D did explain the title of the upcoming album.

“The record business is appearing like a desert,” Chuck D said of the title of the new album. “But the music has a life if you look at it right.”

READ MORE: Banksy identity rumours swirl again after Goldie name slip

Many fans of the hip-hop group took to Twitter to discuss the surprise album.

Prophets of Rage — the Rage Against the Machine/Public Enemy/Cypress Hill supergroup — will release their debut self-titled album on Sept. 15.

More From Global News:



Powered by VIP