Arcade Fire, Daniel Caesar, and Gord Downie have all made the 2018 Polaris Music Prize Long List, it’s been revealed.

It was announced which artists were in the running for the award, which goes to the best album by a Canadian released between June 1, 2017, and May 21, 2018, Thursday at The Drake Underground in Toronto.

225 albums were considered by the 203-member jury for the Long List selection.

RELATED: Watch Arcade Fire’s Quirky New Music Video For ‘Chemistry’

2015 Polaris Music Prize winner Buffy Sainte-Marie, 2016 Long List nominee Safia Nolin, Alanna Stuart of 2018 Long-Listers Bonjay, and Toronto city councillor Josh Colle, were there to help present the nominees.

Past winners include Lido Pimienta, who bagged the honour last year, Kaytranada the year before that in 2016, and Buffy Sainte-Marie in 2015.

RELATED: Gord Downie Musical Produced By Alberta First Nations Elementary School

Tanya Tagaq was also given the award in 2014, Godspeed You! Black Emperor in 2013, Feist in 2012 and Arcade Fire in 2011.

The 10 album Short List will be announced on July 17 before the 2018 Polaris Music Prize winner is finally revealed at the Polaris Gala on Monday, September 17, at the Carlu in Toronto.

The 2018 Long List:

a l l i e – Nightshade

Alvvays – Antisocialites

Arcade Fire – Everything Now

Bahamas – Earthtones

The Barr Brothers – Queens of the Breakers

Bernice – Puff LP: In the air without a shape

Jean-Michel Blais – Dans ma main

Bonjay – Lush Life

Booji Boys – Weekend Rocker

Philippe Brach – Le silence des troupeaux

Cadence Weapon – Cadence Weapon

Daniel Caesar – Freudian

Jennifer Castle – Angels of Death

Clairmont The Second – Lil Mont from The Ave

Gord Downie – Introduce Yerself

Jeremy Dutcher – Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa

Faith Healer – Try ;-)

FRIGS – Basic Behaviour

Zaki Ibrahim – The Secret Life of Planets

Iskwe – The Fight Within

Kacy & Clayton – The Siren’s Song

Lydia Képinski – Premier Juin

Pierre Kwenders – MAKANDA at the End of Space, the Beginning of Time

Pierre Lapointe – La science du coeur

Melissa Laveaux – Radyo Siwel

Hubert Lenoir – Darlene

Terra Lightfoot – New Mistakes

Loud – Une annee record

Milk & Bone – Deception Bay

Partner – In Search Of Lost Time

Propagandhi – Victory Lap

Vivek Shraya & Queer Songbook Orchestra – Part-Time Woman

Sloan – 12

Snotty Nose Rez Kids – The Average Savage

U.S. Girls – In A Poem Unlimited

The Weather Station – The Weather Station

Weaves – Wide Open

Charlotte Day Wilson – Stone Woman

Donovan Woods – Both Ways


Click to View Gallery
Summer Festival Lineup 2018: Where Are Your Favourite Music Stars Playing?