The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is expanding its ranks, adding more members than ever before.

The governing body that grants Oscars issued 928 invitations for talent across the Academy’s 17 branches which are made up of actors, directors, executives and technical positions.

Last year’s acting nominees Timothee Chalamet and Daniel Kaluuya are among those to receive an invite, as are Tiffany Haddish, Alison Brie, Taye Diggs, Gina Rodriguez, Evan Rachel Wood, Blake Lively, Lily James, Ken Jeong, Zoe Kazan, Kal Penn, Miles Teller, Mekhi Pfifer, Naveen Andrews, Taron Egerton, Omar Epps, Hank Azaria and Harry Shearer.

RELATED: Roman Polanski To Sue Academy Over His Expulsion, Calls #MeToo ‘Collective Hysteria’

Women dominate the list, with more invitations going out to Daisy Ridley, Regina Hall, Amber Tambyln, Liv Tyler, Quvenzhane Wallis, Gemma Arterton, Jada Pinkett Smith, Amandla Stenberg, Sarah Silverman, Rashida Jones, Amy Schumer, Danai Gurira, Eva Green, Zoey Deitch, Kim Dickens, Shirley Henderson, Jennifer Grey, Ann Dowd, Elizabeth Debicki, Emilia Clarke, Christine Baranski, Sofia Boutella and Toronto-native Alison Pill.

“Big Little Lies” castmembers and Oscar winners Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon, two-time Oscar nominee Laura Dern and Shailene Woodley (who joined the Academy in 2017), celebrated co-star Zoe Kravitz’s invite from the set of the HBO drama.

The organization has made an attempt to diversify its ranks following 2014’s #OscarsSoWhite controversy, making a concerted effort to include more women and people of colour among the Academy after it was revealed that 92 per cent of its members were white and 75 per cent were male.

RELATED: Sandra Bullock And Cate Blanchett Support Brie Larson’s Call For More Diversity Among Film Critics

Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs vowed to double the amount of women and people of colour by 2020. In order to reach that target, the organization has increased this year’s number of invitations by over 150.

While each branch has its own specific requirements, the invitee must have “demonstrated exceptional achievement in the field of theatrical motion pictures” and be sponsored by two members of the branch they wish to join. Actors must have at least three credits in theatrical feature films, while directors must have two directing credits to their name.

RELATED: Steven Spielberg Says Netflix Movies Only Merit Emmys, Not Oscars

This year’s roster of directors include Michel Gondry (“Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind”), Sean Baker (“Tangerine”), Jean-Pierre Jeunet (“Amelie”), Andy Muschietti (“IT”), Aisling Walsh (“Maudie”), Craig Gillespie (“I, Tonya”) and Luca Guadagnino (“Call Me By Your name”), among others.

Stars and Academy members got in on the celebration, with Melissa McCarthy breaking the news to Haddish and Oscar-winner Lupita Nyong’o sending a shout-out to her “Black Panther” co-star Gurira.

See the reactions from new members below.