Chrissy Teigen, Viola Davis, And More Named Glamour’s Women Of The Year

Chrissy Teigen, Viola Davis, Janelle Monae, and the women activists of March for our Lives — Samantha Fuentes, Naomi Wadler, Jaclyn Corin, Edna Chavez, and Emma Gonzalez — have been named Glamour‘s Women of the Year.

Also included on this year’s list of inspiring and powerful women are the 330-strong Sister Army of survivors involved in the Larry Nassar case, and the judge, the Honourable Rosemarie E. Aquilina, Senator Kamala Harris, the oldest current national park ranger Betty Reid Soskin, and Saudi Arabian Women2Drive ambassador Manal al-Sharif.

Photo: Danielle Levitt
Photo: Danielle Levitt

RELATED: Viola Davis Talks Her Female-Led TIFF Heist Drama ‘Widows’: ‘This Kind Of Role Isn’t Usually Out There For A Woman Of Colour’

Speaking about this year’s honourees, editor-in-chief Samantha Barry said in a press release:

“Whether it’s Chrissy Teigen galvanizing her followers to raise money for the ACLU, Judge Aquilina who allowed her courtroom to be a safe space for the the Sister Army of survivors who came forward together to face their abuser Larry Nassar, Senator Harris who was on the front lines of every difficult political issue in 2018 and fought for those whose voice is so often ignored, or Manal al-Sharif who despite losing her country and being separated from her family, continues to fight for the women in Saudi Arabia — this year, Glamour’s Women of the Year celebrates the women who show us that amazing things can happen when we show up, stand up, and rise up together.”

Photo: Danielle Levitt
Photo: Danielle Levitt

RELATED: Chrissy Teigen Reveals How Her Last Name Is Actually Pronounced

Over the next few days, Glamour will be releasing the full feature stories on all of their honourees on Fans can check out Viola Davis and Kamala Harris on Oct. 31, Chrissy Teigen and March For Our Lives on Nov. 1, Betty Reid Soskin on Nov. 2, and Janelle Monae and Manal al-Sharif on Nov. 5.

All of this year’s groundbreaking women will be celebrated on Monday, Nov. 12, at the annual Women of the Year awards in New York City.

Get breaking news in your inbox



Powered by VIP