Mariah Carey And Missy Elliott Are 2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees

Mariah Carey and Missy Elliott could be joining an illustrious list that includes Jay-Z, Cyndi Lauper, Tom Petty, Loretta Lynn and Leonard Cohen.

The two women are among this year’s nominees to be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

RELATED: Mariah Carey Is Moved To Tears By ‘The Voice’ Contestant

Elliott is the first female rapper ever considered for the prestigious prize. In fact, only two other rappers were ever inducted: the aforementioned Jay-Z and “Money Ain’t a Thang” rapper Jermaine Dupri.

The Associated Press was given the list of nominees on Wednesday, one day before the official announcement. Other performing nominees include Chrissie Hynde, Cat Stevens, John Prine and The Eurythmics. Non-performing nominees include Dallas Austin, Jack Tempchin, Dean Dillon, Jerry Fuller and Tom T. Hall.

Artists must have written hit songs for 20 years before being eligible for nomination. Only six songwriters or songwriting groups will officially be inducted at the Hall’s 50th annual Induction & Awards Gala in New York on June 13, 2019.

RELATED: Missy Elliott’s ‘Funky White Sister’ Gets The Surprise Of Her Life On ‘Ellen’

Eligible members have until Dec. 17 to vote for three performing and three non-performing songwriters.

See all the nominees below.

Performing Nominees:
Mariah Carey
Missy Elliott
Chrissie Hynde
Vince Gill
Mike Love
Jimmy Cliff
Jeff Lynne
Cat Stevens
John Prine
Lloyd Price
Tommy James
The Eurythmics (Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart).

Non-Performing Nominees:
Jack Tempchin
Dean Dillon
Jerry Fuller
Tom T. Hall
Roger Nichols
Dallas Austin

Non-Performing Songwriting Duos:
P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri
Russell Brown and the late Irwin Levine
Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty
Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore
Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham
Bobby Hart and the late Tommy Boyce.

Get breaking news in your inbox



Powered by VIP