The fourth annual Canadian Screen Awards was held tonight in Toronto, with CBC comedy Schitt’s Creek dominating the TV awards with three awards, winning Best Comedy Series as well as acting awards for stars Eugene Levy and Catherine O’Hara.

On the film side, the night’s big winner was Room, which won a stunning nine awards, including acting honours for stars Jacob Tremblay and Brie Larson, as well as wins for best director and best motion picture.

Related: Presenters At The 2016 Canadian Screen Awards

Other winners included History drama Vikings, which took the award for best international drama, while Orphan Black won two awards, with stars Tatiana Maslany and Ari Millen honoured for their performances.

Here’s a complete list of this year’s winners, as awarded during tonight’s televised gala.


Best Comedy Series

Schitt’s Creek; CBC (CBC); (Not A Real Company Productions Inc.); Eugene Levy, Daniel Levy, Andrew Barnsley, Fred Levy, Ben Feigin, Mike Short, Kevin White, Colin Brunton

Best Dramatic Series (Sponsor | Innovate By Day)

19-2; Bravo! (Bell Media); (Sphere Media Plus, Echo Media); Jocelyn Deschenes, Virginia Rankin, Bruce M. Smith, Luc Chatelain, Greg Phillips, Saralo MacGregor, Jesse McKeown 

Best International Drama

Vikings; History Channel Canada (Shaw Media); (Take 5 Productions); Sheila Hockin, John Weber, Michael Hirst, Morgan O’Sullivan, James Flynn, Alan Gasmer, Sherry Marsh, Bill Goddard

Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role

Schitt’s CreekCarl’s Funeral; CBC (CBC); Eugene Levy

Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role

Orphan BlackNewer Elements of Our Defence; Space (Bell Media); Ari Millen

Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Comedic Role

Schitt’s CreekDon’t Worry, It’s His Sister; CBC (CBC); Catherine O’Hara

Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role

Orphan BlackCertain Agony of the Battlefield; Space (Bell Media); Tatiana Maslany

Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program or Series (Individual or Ensemble)

 SunnysideTop Hat; City (Rogers Media); Kathleen Phillips, Pat Thornton, Patrice Goodman, Kevin Vidal, Alice Moran, Rob Norman, Norm Macdonald

Best TV Movie or Limited Series (Sponsor | Entertainment One)

The Book of Negroes; CBC (CBC); (Entertainment One, Conquering Lion Pictures, Out of Africa Entertainment); Damon D’Oliveira, Clement Virgo, Margaret O’Brien, Carrie Stein, Lance Samuels, Bill Niven, Michael Levine


Achievement in Art Direction / Production Design 

Ethan Tobman, Mary Kirkland – Room

Achievement in Cinematography (Sponsor | RUSHCUT)

Yves Bélanger – Brooklyn

Achievement in Costume Design 

Joanne Hansen – Beeba Boys

Achievement in Direction (Sponsor | Pinewood Toronto Studios)

Lenny Abrahamson – Room

Achievement in Editing (Sponsor | The PostMan Post-Production Studio)

Nathan Nugent – Room

Achievement in Make-Up (Sponsor | MAC Cosmetics)

Sid Armour, Jennifer Gould – Room

Achievement in Music – Original Score | Meilleure musique originale

Michael Brook – Brooklyn

Achievement in Music – Original Song (Sponsor | Slaight Music)

Jenny Salgado, André Courcy – Scratch – A Hip-opera | Scratch – Un Hip-Opéra – “C’est aujourd’hui que je sors”

Achievement in Overall Sound (Sponsor | Deluxe Toronto)

Lou Solakofski, Ian Rankin, Joe Morrow, Russ Dyck, Graham Rogers, James Bastable, André Azoubel, Don White, Jack Hereen – Hyena Road

Achievement in Sound Editing 

Jane Tattersall, David McCallum, Martin Gwynn Jones, Barry Gilmore, David Evans, Dave Rose, Brennan Mercer, Ed Douglas, Kevin Banks, Goro Koyama, Andy Malcolm – Hyena Road

Achievement in Visual Effects 

Phil Jones, Sarah Wormsbecher, Eric Doiron, Anthony DeChellis, Lon Molnar, Geoff D.E. Scott, Nathan Larouche, Mark Fordham – Hyena Road

Adapted Screenplay

Emma Donoghue – Room

Best Animated Short 

The Ballad Of Immortal Joe – Hector Herrera, Pazit Cahlon

Best Cinematography in a Feature Length Documentary (Sponsor | Sony of Canada)

Arnaud Bouquet – Last of the Elephant Men

Best Editing in a Feature Length Documentary 

James Scott – How to Change the World

Best Live Action Short Drama 

She Stoops To Conquer – Zack Russell, Marianna Khoury

Best Motion Picture | Meilleur film

Room – David Gross, Ed Guiney

Best Short Documentary (Sponsor | Hot Docs)

Bacon & God’s Wrath – Sol Friedman

Original Screenplay 

Benjamin August – Remember

Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role 

Jacob Tremblay – Room

Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role 

 Nick Serino – Sleeping Giant

Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role 

Brie Larson – Room

Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Joan Allen – Room

Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary

Hurt – Peter Gentile, Alan Zweig