Drake Earns Spot On Prism Prize Shortlist For Best Canadian Music Video

Drake’s video for “Hotline Bling”; has earned him a place among the 10 finalists for the Prism Prize, joining Grimes and Death From Above 1979 as nominees for Music Video of the Year.

The annual award recognizes the best Canadian music video of the year as selected by a jury of music journalists, filmmakers, radio hosts, promoters, and festival programmers.

Last month, a list of 20 music videos and their directors were announced; today’s list slices that number in half.  The winner of the award and a $10,000 prize will be announced in Toronto on May 15.

RELATED: Drake Announces Tour, New Album ‘Views From The 6′ Just Weeks Away

In addition to the top award, several other prizes will be awarded at the ceremony, including an Audience Award.  Fans can vote for their favourite music video from the top 20 nominees on the Prism Prize website beginning March 23.

For a music video to be eligible, it must meet at least 2 of the following criteria: music composed by a Canadian, 50% of a band must be Canadian, the performance/production is in Canada, lyrics are written by a Canadian.  As well, the video production company or director must be Canadian or the music video production facilities must be located in Canada.

Toronto-based Director X, who directed Drake’s “Hotline Bling”;, has an impressive list of credits to his name, including Destiny Child’s “Bootylicious”;, Sisqo’s “Thong Song,”;  Justin Bieber’s “Boyfriend”;,  as well as music videos for Kanye West, Rihanna, and Nelly Furtado.  He continued his working relationship with Drake and Rihanna, recently filming their new video “Work.”;

RELATED: Rihanna Breaks Michael Jackson’s Record With ‘Work’

Drake will face some stuff competition from a variety of Canadian artists across a number of music genres.

The 2016 Prism Prize finalists are:

A Tribe Called Red – “Suplex”; (Director: Jon Riera)
Braids – “Miniskirt”; (Director: Kevan Funk)
Death From Above 1979 – “Virgins”; (Director: Eva Michon)
Drake – “Hotline Bling”; (Director: Director X)
The Elwins – “So Down Low”; (Director: Alan Poon)
Fast Romantics – “Julia”; (Director: Matthew Angus)
Grimes – “Flesh Without Blood”; (Director: Grimes)
Harrison – “How Can It Be”; (Director: Maxime Lamontagne)
Kalle Mattson – “Avalanche”; (Director: Philip Sportel)
Monogrenade – “Le Fantôme”; (Director: Kristof Brandl)

Previous winners include Arcade Fire, Timber Timbre, and Rich Aucoin.



Powered by WordPress.com VIP