Sarah McLachlan To Host 2019 Juno Awards; Shawn Mendes Leads With 6 Nominations

The 2019 Juno Awards honour the best in Canadian music and this year’s nominees have been announced.

On Tuesday, the 2019 contenders were unveiled, along with the news that 12-time Juno-winner Sarah McLachlan will host the show.

RELATED: Corey Hart To Join The Canadian Music Hall of Fame At 2019 Junos

“I’m honoured to have been asked to host the 48th Annual Juno Awards,” McLachlan said. “I know intimately what it feels like to be on the Juno stage and I feel truly blessed to play a new role for an organization that has supported me throughout my career.”

Shawn Mendes leads the pack of nominees with a total of six, including Artist of the Year. The Weeknd was close behind with five, while newcomer bulow received four nods including Breakthrough Artist of the Year.

Loud Luxury also got four nods, including Breakthrough Group of the Year, while Alessia Cara, Bahamas, KILLY, Michael Buble and Roy Lanez were each nominated for three awards apiece.

Corey Hart will also perform live on TV for the first time in two decades as he is inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.

RELATED: Canadian Music Icon David Foster To Receive Humanitarian Award At 2019 Junos

The 2019 Junos will be broadcast live from London, Ont. on CBC on Sunday, March 17.

Check out the list of major nominees below:


Juno Fan Choice Award
Alessia Cara
Avril Lavigne
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine
Loud Luxury
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd
Tory Lanez

Album of the Year
Hubert Lenoir – Darlene
Jann Arden – These Are the Days
Shawn Mendes – Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd – My Dear Melancholy
Three Days Grace – Outsider

Single of the Year
“Growing Pains” – Alessia Cara
“Not A Love Song” – bulow
“Body” – Loud Luxury
“In My Blood” – Shawn Mendes
“Pray For Me” – The Weeknd, Kendrick Lamar

Artist of the Year
Alessia Cara
Michael Buble
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd
Tory Lanez

Group of the Year
The Sheepdogs
Three Days Grace

Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Johnny Orlando
Meghan Patrick

Breakthrough Group of the Year
Elijah Woods x Jamie Fine
Loud Luxury
The Washboard Union

International Album of the Year
Camila Cabello – Camila
Cardi B – Invasion of Privacy
Maroon 5 – Red Pill Blues
Post Malone – beerbongs & bentleys
Travis Scott – ASTROWORLD

Songwriter of the Year
Afie Jurbanen
Donovan Woods
Frank Dukes
Jessie Reyez
Shawn Mendes

Get breaking news in your inbox



Powered by VIP