Leonard Cohen’s Posthumous Music Video For ‘Happens To The Heart’ Released

Leonard Cohen’s new music video for “Happens to the Heart” was released Friday.

The clip was directed by Daniel Askill, who says he found inspiration for the video in the five years that Cohen spent as a Buddhist monk while living at California’s Mount Baldy Zen Center.

He said in a statement, according to Rolling Stone: “I wanted to make something that spoke to Leonard’s years as a zen monk. This film is a quiet, symbolic narrative that charts the letting go of ego and the trappings of fame.”

See some of the celeb reaction to the new Cohen music below.

The video comes after Cohen’s son Adam announced details of a posthumous album and new track.

The Canadian singer passed away in November 2016; it was confirmed last year that new music would eventually be released.

The first track from Thanks For The Dance, “The Goal”, was unveiled last month.

Credit: Sony Music
Credit: Sony Music

RELATED: Leonard Cohen Talks About Love In ‘Marianne & Leonard: Words Of Love’ Trailer

Adam Cohen said in a press release of his late father’s new music, “In composing and arranging the music for his words, we chose his most characteristic musical signatures, in this way keeping him with us.

“What moves me most about the album is the startled response of those who have heard it. ‘Leonard lives!’ they say, one after the other.”

Credit: Sony Music
Credit: Sony Music

RELATED: Massive Leonard Cohen Mural Inaugurated In Downtown Montreal

See the tracklist for Thanks For The Dance, set to be released November 22, below.

1. “Happens to the Heart”
2. “Moving On”
3. “The Night of Santiago”
4. “Thanks for the Dance”
5. “It’s Torn”
6. “The Goal”
7. “Puppets”
8. “The Hills”
9. “Listen to the Hummingbird”

Click to View Gallery

15 Dazzling Covers Of Leonard Cohen Songs

Get breaking news in your inbox



Powered by WordPress.com VIP