The film “Joker” has topped the nominations for the British Academy film awards announced Tuesday.

RELATED: Joaquin Phoenix Opens Up About His ‘Extreme Diet’ For ‘Joker’

The movie about the origins of the comic book villain received 11 BAFTA nominations including best film, best actor for Joaquin Phoenix, and best director.

Martin Scorsese’s gangster epic “The Irishman” and Quentin Tarantino’s “Once Upon a Time in Hollywood” were close behind with 10 nominations, including best picture, and Sam Mendes’ war film “1917” also earned a best picture nomination two days after winning that award at the Golden Globes.

The Korean film “Parasite” also is on the best picture list.

In addition to Phoenix, best actor contenders include Leonardo DiCaprio, Adam Driver, Taron Egerton and Jonathan Pryce.

The best actress will be chosen from Scarlett Johansson, Saoirse Ronan, Charlize Theron, Renee Zellweger and Margot Robbie.

RELATED: Don’t Worry Leonardo DiCaprio Doesn’t Understand ‘Inception’ Either

Not everyone was pleased with the nominations, though, citing the complete lack of people of colour among the acting nominees.

The chair of BAFTA’s film committee, Marc Samuelson decried the “Infuriating lack of diversity in the acting noms.”

He continued, “It’s just a frustration that the industry is not moving as fast as certainly the whole BAFTA team would like it to be.

“BAFTA can’t tell the studios and the production companies who they should hire and whose stories should get told,” Samuelson said. “All BAFTA can do is try to lead and push and it’ll have to carry on pushing.”

The awards will be announced at a gala event hosted by Graham Norton on Feb. 2.

Check out the full list of nominations below:

Best Film
“The Irishman”
“Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”

Leading Actress
Jessie Buckley, “Wild Rose”
Scarlett Johansson, “Marriage Story”
Saoirse Ronan, “Little Women”
Charlize Theron, “Bombshell”
Renée Zellweger, “Judy”

Leading Actor
Leonardo Dicaprio, “Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”
Adam Driver, “Marriage Story”
Taron Egerton, “Rocketman”
Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker”
Jonathan Pryce, “The Two Popes”

Supporting Actress
Laura Dern, “Marriage Story”
Scarlett Johansson, “Jojo Rabbit”
Florence Pugh, “Little Women”
Margot Robbie, “Bombshell”
Margot Robbie, “Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”

Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks, “A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood”
Anthony Hopkins, “The Two Popes”
Al Pacino, “The Irishman”
Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”
Brad Pitt, “Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”

Outstanding British Film
“For Sama”
“Sorry We Missed You”
“The Two Popes”

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer
“Bait”, Mark Jenkin (Writer/Director), Kate Byers, Linn Waite (Producers)
“For Sama”, Waad Al-Kateab (Director/Producer), Edward Watts (Director)
“Maiden”, Alex Holmes (Director)
“Only You”, Harry Wootliff (Writer/Director)
“Retablo”, Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio (Writer/Director)*

Film Not In The English Language
“The Farewell”
“For Sama”
“Pain And Glory”
“Portrait Of A Lady On Fire”

“American Factory”
“Apollo 11”
“Diego Maradona”
“For Sama”
“The Great Hack”

Animated Film
“Frozen 2”
“A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon”
“Toy Story 4”

“1917”, Sam Mendes
“The Irishman”, Martin Scorsese
“Joker”, Todd Phillips
“Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”, Quentin Tarantino
“Parasite”, Bong Joon Ho

Original Screenplay
“Booksmart”, Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman
“Knives Out”, Rian Johnson
“Marriage Story”, Noah Baumbach
“Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”, Quentin Tarantino
“Parasite”, Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-Ho,

Adapted Screenplay
“The Irishman”, Steven Zaillian
“Jojo Rabbit”, Taika Waititi
“Joker”, Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
“Little Women”, Greta Gerwig
“The Two Popes”, Anthony Mccarten

Original Score
“1917”, Thomas Newman
“Jojo Rabbit”, Michael Giacchino
“Joker”, Hildur Guđnadóttir
“Little Women”, Alexandre Desplat
“Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker”, John Williams

“Joker”, Shayna Markowitz
“Marriage Story”, Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler
“Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”, Victoria Thomas
“The Personal History Of David Copperfield”, Sarah Crowe
“The Two Popes”, Nina Gold

“1917”, Roger Deakins
“The Irishman”, Rodrigo Prieto
“Joker”, Lawrence Sher
“Ford v Ferrari”, Phedon Papamichael
“The Lighthouse”, Jarin Blaschke

“The Irishman”, Thelma Schoonmaker
“Jojo Rabbit”, Tom Eagles
“Joker”, Jeff Groth
“Ford v Ferrari”, Andrew Buckland, Michael Mccusker
“Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”, Fred Raskin

Production Design
“1917”, Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales
“The Irishman”, Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
“Jojo Rabbit”, Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková
“Joker”, Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran
“Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”, Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh

Costume Design
“The Irishman”, Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell
“Jojo Rabbit”, Mayes C. Rubeo
“Judy”, Jany Temime
“Little Women”, Jacqueline Durran
“Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood”, Arianne Phillips

Make Up & Hair
“1917”, Naomi Donne
“Bombshell”, Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan
“Joker”, Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann
“Judy”, Jeremy Woodhead
“Rocketman”, Lizzie Yianni Georgiou

“1917”, Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson
“Joker”, Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic
“Ford v Ferrari”, David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester
“Rocketman”, Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan
“Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker”, David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Special Visual Effects
“1917”, Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy
“Avengers: Endgame”, Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick
“The Irishman”, Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman
“The Lion King”, Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez
“Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker”, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy

British Short Animation
“Grandad Was A Romantic”, Maryam Mohajer
“In Her Boots”, Kathrin Steinbacher
“The Magic Boat”, Naaman Azhari, Lilia Laurel

British Short Film
“Azaar”, Myriam Raja, Nathanael Baring
“Goldfish”, Hector Dockrill, Harri Kamalanathan, Benedict Turnbull, Laura Dockrill
“Kamali”, Sasha Rainbow, Rosalind Croad
“Learning To Skateboard In A Warzone (If You’re A Girl)”, Carol Dysinger, Elena Andreicheva
“The Trap”, Lena Headey, Anthony Fitzgerald

Rising Star Award
Jack Lowden
Kaitlyn Dever
Kelvin Harrison Jr.
Micheal Ward